Gallup’s measures of employee engagement and future company prosperity

This came from a fascinating article about China’s road to future prosperity being blocked by the authoritarian management methods used in most of China’s key industries,

But then the author asks these questions about employee engagement. Think about them

These are the 12 most important, and most predictive, workplace elements Gallup has discovered…employee engagement boosts productivity, quality, customer engagement, retention, safety, and profitability.

1. I know what’s expected of me at work.

2. I have the materials and equipment I need to do my work right.

3. At work, I have the opportunity to do what I do best every day.

4. In the last seven days, I received recognition or praise for doing good work

5. My supervisor, or someone at work, seems to care about me as a person.

6. There is someone at work who encourages my development.

7. At work, my opinions seem to count.

8. The mission and purpose of my company makes me feel my job is important.

9. My associates are committed to doing quality work.

10. I have a best friend at work.

11. In the last six months, someone at work talked to me about my progress.

12. In the last year, I have had opportunities at work to learn and grow

Now be honest – how many of these indicators apply to you at your work situation and if not very many, then why not?

I know that when the score is zero, then leaving is the only sane option

Leave a Reply

